The Shiraz University is both a modern as well as old institution of Higher Education in Iran. Established in 1946, the University has, since then, applied itself to the advancement of knowledge no less than to its dissemination. Shiraz University, formerly known as Pahlavi University, is a public university located in Shiraz, Iran. It is one of the major universities of Iran. Shiraz University has always ranked as Top 5 among Iranian universities and is well respected in Iran.

The University of Pennsylvania assisted the Iranian government in transforming Shiraz University into the only institution in the Middle East based on American-style higher education. The University of Pennsylvania (Penn) thus became highly influential in shaping many of Pahlavi University's departments and institutions. Shiraz University has the second biggest campus in Iran.

Shiraz University has pioneered the establishment of doctoral programs in Iran. Presently the university has over 19,000 students, with 200 Bachelor's degree programs (B.A., B.Sc.), 300 Master's degree programs (M.A., M.Sc.), one professional degree program (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine), and 150 Ph.D. programs.

As a top Iranian University, Shiraz University is research-oriented and has about 700 faculty members and 19000 students. The University offers BA/BS in 80 departments, MA/MS in 188 and Ph.D. in 129 areas of concentration. As a comprehensive and accredited University, Shiraz.

University has the responsibility of training qualified faculty staff for other-higher education and research institutes in Iran. It has, thus, contributed a lot towards the scientific development of the country. At present Shiraz University consists of 14 colleges.

  Shiraz Univesity Website

Accompanying Person Program